Junior Chamber International (JCI) Nigeria announced the ten winners of the 2015 Ten Outstanding Young Persons (TOYP) Awards in a release jointly signed by the 2015 National President, Seun Osikalu and 2015 TOYP Chairperson, Adetola Juyitan. The ten winners are Adebola Olomo, Oresanwo Lolade, Odjenima Atinuke, Araba Steven Omogbolahan, Uyi-Aivinhenyo Patricia, Abdulkadir Mukhtar, Onitiju Ibukun, Akintayo Stephen, Steve Harris, Olawale Rotimi. 

The TOYP, a global initiative which is being replicated in Nigeria, concentrates on formally recognizing young people who are making waves in their chosen fields and creating positive impact on other people, their community and the society at large. These recognitions are basically to motivate other young people and encourage them in their bid to be socially responsible leaders in the Nigerian society. 

Adetola Juyitan, Chairperson of the JCI TOYP in Nigeria, said that “This year’s TOYP is coming with an unprecedented class which is reflected through the quality of shortlisted nominees, the quality of the judges, the organization of the grand finale of the event, amongst other things.” 

According to her, “Junior Chamber International, Nigeria has been participating at the international level over the years, and beyond hosting the Nigerian edition, we will be taking advantage of the platform of this year’s programme to re-reinforce the presence of JCI in Nigeria.” 

Since 1983, JCI has honored nearly 300 individuals across 57 nations in the past. Some recipients of the award at the global level include well-known personalities as John F. Kennedy, Henry Kissinger, Elvis Presley, Jackie Chan, Wayne Gretzky and many more, all named before the age of 40 and before they had achieved national prominence. Honorees selected in past years have represented the heights of progress in numerous human endeavors. All have continued to serve humanity in a great variety of ways. 

Nigerians who have been recipients of the awards at the International level in the past include Mr. Ray Ekpu in 1988 (Moral and/or Environmental Leadership category), Ms. Sidi Modupe Osho in 1996 (Scientific and/or Technological Development category) and Dr. Ola Orekunrin in 2003 (Medical Innovation category). 

Some of the past recipients of the award in Nigeria include; Akintunde Imolehin, Sir Shina Peters, Femi Anikulapo-Kuti, Nduka Obaigbena, Daddy Showkey, Isaac Orolugbagbe, Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi, Richard Mofe Damijo, Larry Ojomo, Linda Ikeji, Praise Fowowe, Japhet Onojuwa, Dr. Ola Orekunrin, Ayodeji Adewumi, Obinna Ekezie, Tolu Sangosanya, Freeman Osonuga, Audu Maikori, Gbenga Sesan, Bimbo Odukoya (deceased), MEE Mofe-Damijo (deceased), Amaka Igwe (deceased) amongst others. 

Eligibility for recognition is pinned at Nigerians that are above 18 years of age but less than 40 years who can be said to have excelled in their chosen fields and have created, or are continuously creating positive change. 

About 130 nominations were received this year, out of which 30 nominees were further selected after a screening process by a panel of judges. 20 nominees made it to the last stage. The general public then voted for the final 10. The whole process was worked on by the JCI Nigeria TOYP Team, a panel of distinguished Nigerian judges and a team from our reputable and internationally acclaimed audit partners. 

JCI Nigeria National President Mr. Seun Osikalu, talking about the selection process, said that, “the Ten honorees were selected by a panel of distinguished judges from all nominations received, regardless of category entered: 

Business, economic, and/or entrepreneurial accomplishment 
Political, legal, and/or governmental affairs 
Academic leadership and/or accomplishment 
Cultural achievement 
Moral and/or environmental leadership 
Contribution to children, world peace, and/or human rights 
Humanitarian and/or voluntary leadership 
Scientific and/or technological development 
Personal improvement and/or accomplishment 
Medical innovation 

The 2015 president of JCI Nigeria added that the grand finale and awards ceremony of the Ten Outstanding Young Persons Awards which will hold on Saturday 26th September, 2015 at The Incubator, Dideolu Street, Victoria Island is a great event to look forward to as the honorees “with their achievements, will motivate their peers to seek excellence in their chosen career-path and also demonstrate their selfless service to their community. Their stories of innovation, determination and ingenuity will definitely motivate young people to be better leaders while working tirelessly towards creating a better society”.


Your comments are like delicious grains of jollof rice to me: please feed me! Send me love mail sisi@sisiyemmie.com / Official business@sisiyemmie.com

Back to Top